Resolute

Comments

• edited December 2019

Stuck on making m*r** cred work, any hint?

• is the box down on the free servers ?

• I am a bit confused with the difficulty of the servers. I am not good at all with Windows, this box and another one are the only one that seemed ranked on the easy side... well, i one of the easy box deals with JSON deserialization, so "easy" that it's not covered inmost of the entry-level courses or even the Webapp Hacker handbook, and this other one is this one, where none of the classical escalation channels (ie. misconfigured services/directory permissions) seem to apply either.

lebutter
    eCPPT | OSCP

• Type your comment> @imousrf said:

is the box down on the free servers ?

It's bleeding as hell on vip servers too

• @lebutter said:
    I am a bit confused with the difficulty of the servers. I am not good at all with Windows, this box and another one are the only one that seemed ranked on the easy side... well, i one of the easy box deals with JSON deserialization, so "easy" that it's not covered inmost of the entry-level courses or even the Webapp Hacker handbook, and this other one is this one, where none of the classical escalation channels (ie. misconfigured services/directory permissions) seem to apply either.

It's all about subjective assessments

• Can someone give me a nudge for escalating from Ry** user to root i think i know what to do but what i have been doing is not working i can explain everything i have tried so far in a pm. Thanks

• edited December 2019

Easy machine

-- User:
    - Basic enumeration + careful reading
    -- Root:
    - Creds
    - Groups
    - Exploit

• edited December 2019

I'm using off-the-shelf code to get root. It requires me to make a dns query, which i do using nslookup but nothing happens (the code is not executed upon the query). I have uploaded everything to the target.

Any hints? I can elaborate further in PM.