A Friendly Hello

Hello,

Bit nervous about posting; But here we go.

I’ve been a member of HTB coming up to a year now. Life had slapped me pretty soon after getting access. That got in the way of me and HTB.

I’ve worked in IT for over 10 years. We typically outsource Sec people to come in and test various networks. Obviously I asked “Where do you go to learn? Or even practice this stuff?” and now I’m here (without the use of google to get past the invite I REALLY needed a mini win as I was dealing with depression).

I didn’t do Uni, again life and a cost thing. And my Boss is more than happy to keep me at the level I am at (tech support)… Maybe I’m stupid I don’t know.
I’ve played around with (self taught), python, c++, html/css/php, java.
OS’s Windows Desktop/Servers (my Job), Mac (also my job), RedHat (when I was a teen), Ubuntu, Arch, BackTrack (pre kali… was flirting with the idea back then), Kali.

I’ve always been into Info-Sec. But never had the opportunity (or lab equipment) to learn and practice it. Excited and nervous about being here.
If anyone would have any advice, what cert/books should I aim for/read?Should I focus on retired machines first? Is it OK to read the write ups? Are there learning communities?

Anyway, a friendly Hello.
Looking forward to getting my broadband installed (house move), and getting sunk in. And maybe my next post will actually be helpful to another (it’s nice to dream).

Nimakai.

P.S. Sorry for taking up your time.

A friendly hello back. Welcome!

I think you are on a good way. How to proceed depends on how fast and how deep you like to go into infosec. This depends also of the time you have to invest. So if you want to reach a high level it is a lot of time… Sometimes also frustrating but if you have the interest, ambition and pleasure you will get it.