MISC fs0ciety hint needed

Hi there HTBers,
I would like a hint on fs0ciety. I know total newb on this, but this is what I tried/have done.

1. Downloaded zip folder
  2. Password cracked the zip folder
  3. Got a .txt doc and opened it
  4. Read the message inside
  5. Tried inputting different info from the .txt into the HTB{} submit box
  6. Keep getting incorrect flag

Thanks for any and all help/direction/kick in the @$$/put me in time out/shake me by the shoulders/slap me silly/throw cold water on me hints you guys can provide!

Have a good one!
skooldog

read pdf carefully …dont ignore any kind of —(dashes) and .(dot) even … :wink:

Thanks Agent22!
I believe that hint may be part of the other MISC challenge Old is Gold. But, I could be wrong. Please feel free to give me a head slap if I am incorrect.

@skooldog said:
Thanks Agent22!
I believe that hint may be part of the other MISC challenge Old is Gold. But, I could be wrong. Please feel free to give me a head slap if I am incorrect.

sorry …u r ryt …i m bit mess with both misc challl… hheheh :wink:

Is an ssh key, it means that it’s encrypted, so you have to decrypt it to get the pass

Thanks puerkito66. Do you or anyone else have any resources that I could reference to help with the decryption. I have googled quite a bit on this topic and have tried using online tools and cli tools like openssl, but no progress. How can I tell what kind of encryption it is using? Not even sure where to start with this…

Here is a portion of the string in the text file:

MDExMDEwMDEgMDExMDAxMTAgMDEwMTExMTEgMDExMTEwMDEgMDAx

It states that this is “Encrypted SSH credentials to access…”

Please let me know if I have given too much information.

Thanks again to any and all that can help guide me in this challenge :slight_smile:

@skooldog said: